What is ksfetch and how do you stop it?

http://www.rawinfopages.com/mac/content/what-ksfetch-and-how-do-you-stop-it

I like to keep an eye on what is happening on my Mac and a utility that I have used for a long time is MenuMeters. This is a menu bar utility that shows processor usage, disk usage, upload and download speed, and free and used memory. This utility makes it easy to spot problems that might otherwise be missed and it highlighted an issue with ksfetch. So what is it and how do you stop it? Continue reading


how to remove Google’s secret update software from your mac

http://applehelpwriter.com/2014/07/13/how-to-remove-googles-secret-update-software-from-your-mac/

If you’ve ever downloaded Chrome, even for just a trial (guilty!), you might not be aware that Google have slipped a little bit of hidden software into your Library.

This software is called Google Updater, and it secretly “calls home” on a regular basis and downloads updates to your Google software without either asking before, or notifying you after, doing so. In Developer circles, this is considered very shady practice. Users should be asked for consent and informed when software makes changes to either itself or the user’s computer, and ideally those notifications should tell the user what has been changed and how the changes could impact them. Continue reading


Killing Safari Cookies & Files – Build Your Own Mac App

As a developer, Safari presents some issues when trying to test logins and new content. Safari simply doesn’t like to let go of Cookies and History when you use the built-in buttons to do just that. Build a simple app on your target computer to do this for you quickly, so you can get back to your development and testing. Simply put, just use Apple Automator to create a simple Mac App to delete the necessary files to cleanse Safari Cookies, History and whatever else you are irritated by. This is a workflow that Quits Safari then moves the files I need to cleanse to the Trash and Empties The Trash. It then re-launches Safari so I can continue here I left off, with a blank screen. The caveat is that this will remove ALL cookies and history and whatever you add to the Get Specified Finder Items list!! Your bank logins and similar tracked authentication will disappear too and you will need to login again. This will not remove bookmarks or password program records, unless you specifically add those to the Finder list. Continue reading


How To Clear Apple Mail Cache

Are you sick and tired of Apple Mail displaying old images instead of new, updated images? If you are sending emails and need t tsp your layout or template, and especially if you work through numerous iterations of email testing, your Apple Mail Image Cache can be a real pain! Sure, it would be nice if Apple had a handy button that actually worked to clear the cache, but they seem more concerned with the impression of speed and performance, than the quality of content. Follow the directions below to clear your Apple Mail Cache manually. Continue reading


Assign Primary Monitor on Apple With Multiple Displays

You’d think it was easy to assign which monitor was the primary display on a Mac, but it’s elusive. Oddly enough, the Apple Help system is garbage and doesn’t quickly show you what to do. It’s as simple as a drag-drop action in System Preferences > Displays. Your Mac displays will reset, then the menubar above and dock below should be on the new primary display. The screen shot below should help make sense of this procedure. Continue reading


Override Locked File Deletion On Apple

Don’t you hate it when you try to Trash files and/or folders from your Mac and the system says the files and folder contents are Locked, therefore you are screwed? I don’t know what Doofus decided this wasn’t an appropriate place to allow an Admin Override option with authentication, but Apple does has a Microsoft sense of humor.

Fortunately, there’s a simple and easy way to get this job done using the Terminal. You need to have the Administrator Password since you will issue a SUDO command, but that’s about it. Once you complete this task below, you can proceed with the usual send-to-trash operation and everything that was previously Locked will delete without issue. Continue reading